John C. Maxwell

In John’s recent post he essentially asked, Are You Out Of Place? Further, he was asked, “How do I know when it’s time for me to move on?” He posits that each time we feel this way does not necessarily suggest we make a career move. However, to assist in determining the correct course of action one can ask four questions.

  1. Am I currently exceeding expectations? If you consistently exceed expectations, perhaps it is a time to look for a place where you can contribute more.
  2. Am I giving 100% of my effort? It is possible to exceed expectations and not give it you are He says, “Resist the coaster’s mentality.” That attitude will follow you to your next assignment.
  3. Am I seeing and seizing growth opportunities? Do not allow discontentment to be your guide in leaving; it might be a sign that you should explore the possibilities that surround you. Do not move on until you are certain that you have made the most of every opportunity.
  4. Am I currently mentoring others? If you do not mentor others, when you leave, you take your influence, vision and momentum with you. You should go with things better than when you arrived, otherwise this could have adverse effects on those you leave behind.

John believes you should grow until you have filled all of the space that you occupy. When you have accomplished that, it is time to move on. However, John also states, “Is this what God would have me do?” Never make a decision without the help of God.

http://bit.ly/1TZ5N45

 

 

