Tags


Do my opinions count?

I remember reporting to a job in the 1980’s feeling very motivated and ready to achieve the success I had been trained for in college. Quickly I realized from the top down “Stinking Thinking” was the norm practiced there. I earned numerous national awards and yet never received support or encouragement from the boss, not even a pat on the back.

Five Magic Questions Leaders Should Ask

Part 3

Part 1 of Series

Part 2 of Series 

The third question that any leader who wishes to succeed in their leadership ventures should consider is if they value and appreciate their workers’ opinions and contributions in the company.

I suppose nothing could have eroded my enthusiasm and morale any faster than the realization that appreciation of my opinions, concerns and contributions would not be received! As is to be expected, I gladly jumped ship at the first offer that came my way.

It is paramount for leaders to display their appreciation of employees’ opinions by allowing them to make their jobs more interesting through the incorporation of a broader focus of work (Lim, 2007, p. 495).

Another very important strategy to appreciate the opinions and perspective of workers is to ensure that they are included in the decision-making activities of the firm, as much as possible (Lim, 2007). Under the hierarchy of needs, Maslow purports that humans have the need to be respected by others. One of the greatest techniques by leaders to respect workers is to appreciate the workers’ contributions and opinions at the workplace (Ismail, Noor & Awang, 2011, p. 150).

Next Time We Pick Up With Question #4

