Tags

Susanne Lucas, writing for Inc. found that employee turnover costs your company in many ways. She listed:

Lowered productivity, Overworked remaining staff, Lost knowledge, Training costs, Interviewing costs, Recruiter fees

Gallup has surveyed millions of employees over the years utilizing countless questions to determine employee happiness. The questions have been analyzed; resulting in five if properly addressed will result in happiness, loyalty to the company and reducing the unwanted costs associated with turnover. The questions are:

  1. Am I allowed to do what I do best every day?
  2. Does my boss or someone else at work care about me as a person?
  3. Do my opinions count?
  4. Do I understand what is expected of me?
  5. Do I have all the tools necessary to be productive?

The research showed that employee’s satisfaction was directly related to their supervisor. Great employees that left a company more often than not, parted because of the supervisor not the company in general. If your employees can give each of these questions high marks your well on your way to retaining your employees. Further information regarding the research can be found in the book entitled, “First, Break All The Rules” by Marcus Buckingham & Curt Coffman.

Lucas, Susanne. “How Much Employee Turnover Really Costs You.” Inc.com. N.p., n.d. Web. 14 May 2014.

Further Reading – Expounding The Questions

  1. Am I allowed to do what I do best every day?
  2. Does my boss or someone else at work care about me as a person?
  3. My Boss Appreciates Who?
